​Walk it through? With me?

(It’s my first post here, and I’d love to dedicate it to a person who started out as a stranger and has turned to family ❤ Smita Patil, thankyou for being a part of my life. You’re one of the best things happened to me)



Today, when I have walked this far,

And look back – to what we are

The journey I see,

Walk it through? With me?


It was your smile, I remember,

That you flashed across, so tender.

‘Good Morning’ was the first phrase,

And monochromatic talks spread through days.


We also sat together in a session.

Your 98% turned to be more like an impression.

With time, I got to know you more,

You were lot more, than just that score.


And I gave up to some fears one day,

Shed my skin.

Saw your eyes, and the tears flowing,

No trace of smile, gone was the grin.

“I do make a difference”

It was too much to take in.


The days when I felt all alone,

And nothing was my own,

Were you the wind that had blown?

Or the river that had flown?

Everything was so terrible,

And yet, you made it bearable.


When I felt I was something nobody’ll keep,

You were that one adverse leap.

How have you managed,

To make everything so deep?


I had gifted you a sketch,

And you, a poem in a card

And, that was it.

I had let down my guard.


The saddest part has been when

Over the phone call you did mourn.

Listening to you, sobbing, shattered,

I was devastated, deeply torn.


I know of nights, when you had work to wrap.

But you stayed up, listening to my crap.


I don’t remember feeling something and not telling you,

As if with me, you’ve felt it too.


You’ve been an advisor too,

All smart and wise

Advice’s that i’ll accept,

Maybe, closing my eyes


I can’t imagine,

What your absence would feel like.

Hiraeth? For the home that you are?

Or a thunder, ready to strike?


I’ve talked to you,

And never could’ve lied.

Sometimes, I have cried,

Until my eyes dried.

But then, I’ve had you,

Always by my side.

This journey,

Has been no less than a ride.

Having you, fills me with pride.


I don’t have many people,

Who’d love me or surround.

I am that one person,

Who’ll resist being found.

I’ll love the endless sky,

And feel unwanted by the ground

And if it wasn’t for you,

I might’ve been drowned.


The one who doesn’t run,

Is indifferent to have lost or won.

Here, ‘I’ am the ‘one’

But amidst these clouds, I’ve found my sun.


Today, or ever after,

Even if I own an entire sun

I won’t forget that one candle you lit,

Where there were none.


Today, the journey I see,

I have a greedy plea,

To the bond we share, tied yet free,

Like the roots to a tree

I want us to be.

Walk it through? With me?


-Pratigya Berwal.

8 thoughts on “​Walk it through? With me?

Leave a comment